Skip to content

Warajanga Marnti Warrarnja - Together We Walk on Country


Pilbara FASD Project

Making FASD History in the Pilbara Alfred's Story

Making FASD History as CEO of a health Service June's Story


Making FASD History in the Pilbara Tracy's story


Making FASD History Sissy's Story


Making FASD History as a Community Researcher - Sissy's Story

Consumer and community involvement


We are partnering with community organisations:


Community Reference Group & Hedland FASD Network

Consumer and Community Involvement


Other key community stakeholders:

  • IBN Group (Yinhawangka, Banyjima and Nyiyaparli people)
  • Gumala Aboriginal Corporation
  • Karilka Nyiyaparli Aboriginal Corporation
  • Yamatji Marlpa Aboriginal Corporation
  • Wangka Maya Pilbara Aboriginal Language Centre
  • Pilbara Indigenous Women's Aboriginal Corporation (PIWAC)
  • Community Councils
  • Mothers Against Drugs
  • Youth Involvement Council
  • Bloodwood Tree
  • Mission Australia
  • Yaandina Family Services
Government departments

Western Australia

  • Country Health Service
  • Mental Health Commission (Drug & Alcohol Office)
  • Education
  • Child Protection & Family Support
  • Corrective Services
  • Police

Research and cultural leads

  • June Councillor, CEO Wirraka Maya Health Service Aboriginal Corporation
  • Glenn Pearson, Head Aboriginal Research Development Telethon Kids Institute
  • Dr James Fitzpatrick, Head Alcohol and Pregnancy & FASD Research Team Telethon Kids Institute
  • Dr Roz Walker, Head Aboriginal Maternal Health and Child Development Telethon Kids Institute



Project Team

  • Kaashifah Bruce, Program Manager Governance and Strategy
  • Dr Rebecca Pedruzzi, Senior Research Officer
  • Emma Adams, Data and Statistics Manager
  • David Tucker, Research Officer Prevention
  • Tracy McRae, Research Officer, Therapy and Support
  • Elaine Clifton, Community Researcher Therapy & Support
  • Sangita Daniel, Research Assistant Therapy and Support
  • Margaret (Sissy) Ramirez, Community Researcher
  • Adrian Clinch, Community Researcher
  • Skye Richmond, Community Researcher
  • Zabia Chemielewski, Community Researcher